Home

Peacock feather digital printed silk handbag

June 15, 2012

Peacock feathers hold a magic for me. They conjure up images of exotic gardens and maharajas. They are timeless and never go out of fashion. Thankfully they will also go with a huge array of colours.

I’ve had this beautiful silk for a while now and wanted to save it up for something special. I could only afford a couple of yards which make it all the more precious to me. I came up with a gathered bag with navy leather handles.

I have teamed it with this amazing white lace dress from Coast.

At £145 it is lucky that I found it in the sale!

I know white is the most impractical colour but I think when I wear this it will be for a very special occasion!

With Royal Ascot on the brain and all the fabulous Jubilee celebrations I have been observing many hats, bags and shoes of late. There is no doubt that feathers look fantastic on the head although I am in favour of the ‘less is more’ mentality here. Birds nest fascinators are really not great are they? Sorry Kate!

I once attended a mid-winter wedding where the lucky couple got snowflakes as we came out of the church. One of the guests was an immaculate lady in her 50’s wearing a peacock feather spray that covered her crown but didn’t look ostentatious. She had a blue and gold brocade cape and I have never forgotten how glamorous understated and graceful she looked.

This hat was designed by Jane Taylor for Ascot last year.

Looking around at other dresses I also found inspiration from this Matthew Williamson silk creation.

Or perhaps this gorgeous 1980’s vintage Liberty print dress for just £45 from circavintage.co.uk

And for your walls, this bold print from Danish company Ferm Living certainly makes a feathery impression.

Leave a comment